Prestigious Journalism Prize Nomination for CIJ Speakers

    CIJ speakers Dr Phil Hammond and Andrew Bousfield were nominated for the prestigious Martha Gellhorn prize this summer for their special investigation in Private Eye, ‘Shoot the messenger: How NHS whistleblowers are silenced and sacked’

    The Martha Gellhorn Prize is given in honour of one of the 20th century’s greatest reporters and is awarded to a journalist ‘whose work has penetrated the established version of events and told an unpalatable truth that exposes establishment propaganda, or “official drivel”, as Martha Gellhorn called it’.

    Previous winners include Robert Fisk of the Independent, Nick Davies of the Guardian, Julian Assange, the founder of WikiLeaks, and the late Marie Colvin of the Sunday Times (special award).

    You can read the investigation in full here

    The 2012 award went to Gareth Porter, the Washington-based journalist, for his investigation of US ‘killing strategy’ in Afghanistan, including the targeting of people through their mobile phones.