European Press Prize 2012

    Europe-wide competition open until 26 October

    The European Awards for Journalism are calling for entries for this year's competition. There are four categories, each with a prize of  €10,000 to be spent wherever possible, on a personal project that may, in turn, enrich the practice of journalism.

    The categories are:

    1. The Editing Award – for the editor who the judges believe has contributed most to public debate and public understanding;

    2. The Commentator Award – for the feature writer, columnist or commentator who has done most to illuminate vital issues for his or her readers;

    3. The News Reporting Award – for the reporter or specialist expert whose work has made a decisive impact;

    4. The Innovation Award – for the outstanding innovation of the year – in print or via digital: anything that makes a significant contribution to journalism’s future.

    Entries for year one of the awards open on July 1 and close on October 26, 2012. The winners - judged by a distinguished panel from different areas of Europe and under the chairmanship of Sir Harold Evans, editor-at-large of Thomson Reuters and former editor of London’s Sunday Times - will be announced in January and have their awards presented at a congress of Europe’s media foundations in the De Balie Debating Centre, Amsterdam, on 26 February, 2013.

    Sir Harold Evans will be joined on the judging panel by J√∏rgen Ejb√∏l, chairman of JP/Politiken Newspapers and former editor of Jyllands-Posten in Copenhagen, Sylvie Kauffmann, editorial director of Le Monde in Paris and Yevgenia Albats, editor of New Times in Moscow and Paolo Flores d’Arcais, one of the most influential philosophers and writers in Italy.

    For more information and to enter see the European Press Prize 2012 website