Call for Entries Freedom of Expression Awards

    Who should win an Index Award in 2013?

    Each year Index on Censorship celebrates a range of individuals or organisations from around the world who have shown outstanding courage and creativity in safe-guarding the right to free expression.

    These prestigious awards attract a great deal of coverage in the UK and internationally, giving winners high profile amongst influential policy makers, media figures and campaigners.

    We are accepting nominations in the following four categories: ·

    • Journalism: recognising high impact, determined investigative journalism across the range of media including print, online, radio and television
    • Digital freedom: recognising ground-breaking work in the digital realm and the field of new technology to promote free expression and defend against threats to freedom online
    • Advocacy: recognising campaigners and activists who have fought repression, or have struggled to change legislation
    • Arts: recognising artists fighting against censorship of their work, or those using the visual and creative arts to expand free expression for artists

    This work must have taken place or been created since April 2012, and must reflect current and salient issues. Nominations must not already be recognised by other awards in the UK.

    Please include the following information in your nomination submission:

    • Name of individual/organisation
    • Nationality, gender and category of nomination
    • Current location (if known)
    • Short description of the work for which they have been nominated, which must have taken place since April 2012
    • Any relevant links (five maximum), eg Twitter, examples of their work.

    Nominations should be sent to our Awards Co-ordinator Eve Jackson: before noon, Monday 26 November 2012. Our panel of judges will compile the shortlist, then choose a winner in each category.

    Winners will be brought to the UK, where possible, for the 13th Annual Index on Censorship Awards ceremony, to be held on Thursday 21 March 2013 at the Inner Temple Hall, London.